Third Offense DWI Lawyers in Paterson, NJ
Aggressive DWI Defense Attorneys Will Help You Contest Your DUI Charges in Passaic County, Middlesex County, and Passaic County
New Jersey, like most states, requires drivers to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of below .08 percent at all time while operating a motor vehicle. When a motorist exceeds .08 percent BAC while driving on a New Jersey road, they are in violation of the law and can be charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). The consequences of a DWI charge for a first-time offender are significant: you could lose your driver’s license for a lengthy period of time. Moreover, when you have prior DWI convictions on your driving record, the penalties can be even worse: you could be looking at jail time, stiff fines, and cancellation of your auto insurance coverage.
If you have been charged with a third offense DWI needs to have qualified legal representation on your side. The reality is that NJ prosecutors often seek maximum punishments for repeat offenders and NJ municipal court judges tend to impose maximum penalties in these types of cases. Andrew John Calcagno is the founder of Calcagno & Associates. Mr. Calcagno and his experienced, aggressive legal team know what it takes to beat DWI charges because they have successfully represented countless clients in DWI cases throughout NJ, including Union Township, Plainfield, Elizabeth, East Orange, Howell, and Middletown, NJ.
What Are the Penalties for a Third Offense DWI in New Jersey?
While the penalties for a first offense DWI or a second offense DWI in New Jersey are already pretty extreme, a third offense DWI conviction (or a subsequent conviction) within a 10-year time period can have consequences that affect you for the rest of your life. The potential penalties include:
- Jail Time: NJ DWI law requires judges to impose a mandatory minimum sentence of 180 days in the county jail.
- Driver’s License Suspension: If you are convicted of a third offense DWI, your driver’s license will be suspended for 10 years.
- Ignition Interlock Devices: Assuming you are lucky enough to secure auto insurance coverage after your license suspension period has ended, you will be required to install ignition interlock devices on all of your motor vehicles.
- Alcohol Education Classes: Third-time offenders are typically ordered to attend alcohol education classes as a regional Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).
- Monetary Fines: A third offense DWI conviction typically results in fines that exceed $1,000.
- Community Service: Most third-time offenders are ordered to perform 90 days of community service.
Driver’s License Suspension for Third Offense DWI Convictions in NJ
Although serving 180 days in jail is certainly no picnic, the most damaging consequence of a third offense DWI conviction in New Jersey is typically the license suspension for 10 years. Imagine having to find alternative means of transportation for the next 10 years of your life! Driving to and from work, picking up your kids from school, going grocery shopping, and every other activity requiring transportation will be difficult if not impossible.
Making matters worse is the fact that if you are caught driving on a New Jersey road while your driver’s license is suspended due to a DWI, you can be charged with a felony. As set forth by N.J.S.A. 2C:40-26, a person who operating a motor vehicle during a period of license suspension for a DWI can be charged with a fourth degree crime. A conviction for this felony-level offense could land the offender behind bars for up to 18 months.
Free Consultation with Jersey City, NJ DWI Defense Attorneys
Do not take any chances when it comes to your driving privileges in New Jersey. If you have been charged with a third offense DWI in Hoboken, East Orange, Edison, or anywhere else in NJ, it is imperative that you speak with a knowledgeable DWI defense attorney as soon as possible.
Andrew Calcagno is available 24/7 to discuss your case over the phone or to meet in person at one of his conveniently located offices in Cranford, Westfield, Clifton, Red Bank, or Newark. Contact Calcagno & Associates today to schedule a free consultation about your DWI charges.