Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) for NJ DWI Violations
Aggressive Traffic Defense Attorneys Beat DWI and DUI Charges in Newark, New Jersey
New Jersey has some of the toughest penalties in the country when it comes to DWI and DUI offenses. A person who is convicted of drunk driving in NJ often faces mandatory suspension of their driver’s license, heavy fines, and even jail time. Of course, those punitive measures tend to focus more on holding convicted DWI offenders accountable for their mistakes on the road, but they do not necessarily help the motorists understand how to avoid making those mistakes in the future. That’s why NJ drunk driving law also requires anyone convicted of a DWI offense in the State of New Jersey to attend alcohol education classes at a local Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC). These classes are meant to educate convicted DWI offenders about the potential ramifications of drunk driving. The NJ Intoxicated Driver Program also offers assistance in the form of screening intervention and alcohol and drug treatment referral options.
Although the IDRC can be helpful for some people, the requirements of the program can also be rigorous. Failure to comply with IDRC requirements can actually lead to more severe penalties. That’s why anyone who has been charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in New Jersey should make sure they have a skilled DWI defense lawyer on their side throughout the legal process. Andrew John Calcagno is a strong NJ DWI defense attorney with years of experience assisting clients who have been charged with DWIs in Plainfield, Union, Elizabeth, Bloomfield, and Wayne, NJ.
IDRC Requirements in New Jersey
The main part of the Intoxicated Driver Program in NJ is alcohol and highway safety education classes. A person convicted of drunk driving in New Jersey is required to attend these classes at an IDRC center. The IDRC centers are located in each county in New Jersey. There are also three regional IDRCs, which is where repeat offenders take their alcohol education classes. While first-time offenders must attend IDRC classes and be evaluated for at least 12 hours, repeat offenders usually have to spend 48 hours at a regional IDRC facility.
In addition to taking part in the educational component provided by the IDRC, convicted DWI offenders are also given various treatment options and monitored for alcohol and drug abuse by IDRC employees.
The cost of attending IDRC classes is placed on the DWI offender. These costs typically include fees totaling more than $500. Anyone who fails to pay these fees, or who fails to attend IDRC classes as required under the law, could face additional DWI penalties.
Keep in mind that even out-of-state drivers who have been convicted of a DWI in New Jersey must meet all IDRC requirements. This can be a particular problem for visitors to the Garden State, as it is usually very inconvenient for them to attend alcohol education classes in a state in which they do not live. However, an experienced DWI defense attorney may be able to help an out-of-state driver facing DWI charges get the IDRC requirements transferred to their home state.
Contact an Aggressive Clifton DWI Defense Lawyer Now
Although being required to attend alcohol education classes may seem like only a minor inconvenience, it is important to realize that the program’s monitoring can have serious negative consequences for a convicted DWI offender. That’s because if an IDRC evaluator determines you suffer from an alcohol addiction problem, they can recommend to the court that you undergo extended alcohol treatment that can last up to one year.
Do not let a DWI charge derail your life. Contact Calcagno & Associates today to schedule a free consultation with a member of our skilled DWI defense team. We have offices in Cranford, Clifton, Westfield, Newark, and Red Bank.