DWI License Suspension in New Jersey
Hillside, NJ DWI Lawyer Helps Clients Charged with DUI Keep Their Licenses and Avoid Driver’s License Suspension
You do not want to lose your driver’s license for any reason. Without a valid driver’s license, your life will become considerably more difficult. When it comes to DWI/DUI offenses in North Jersey, local municipal prosecutors do not shy away from seeking the sternest possible punishments, which typically include a lengthy period of suspension for the offender’s license. This is true for both first-time offenders and repeat offenders (including second offense DWIs and third offense DWIs).
Although New Jersey prosecutors typically won’t negotiate or offer plea deals in DWI cases, it is still crucial that anyone who has been charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) have experienced legal counsel on their side throughout the legal process. In fact, a qualified DWI defense attorney may be able to challenge the evidence in your case and get the charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. Andrew John Calcagno knows how to win DWI cases in North Jersey courtrooms because he has years of experience defending clients against DWI charges in Springfield, Union, West Orange, Wayne, and Howell, NJ.
Driver’s License Suspension for DWI Convictions in Woodbridge, NJ
Under New Jersey law, anyone convicted of Driving While Intoxicated on a highway or road is subject to mandatory suspension of their driver’s license. Additionally, the law also imposes a mandatory license suspension for anyone convicted of Breath Test Refusal in New Jersey. The bottom line is that a DWI conviction could have long-lasting consequences for you and your loved ones, especially if they are dependent on you for transportation. Perhaps worst of all, NJ does not allow for restricted, temporary, or hardship licenses – so you will be absolutely barred from driving while your license is suspended for a DWI conviction.
The amount of time that your license will be suspended for is dependent on the number of prior DWI offenses that you have on your driving record. In New Jersey, the license suspension periods for DWI offenses are as follows:
- First Offense DWI with .08 percent BAC: Three months.
- First Offense DWI with .10 percent BAC: Seven months.
- Second Offense DWI: Two years.
- Third Offense DWI: 10 years.
Get Your License Back After It Has Been Suspended for a DWI Violation in New Jersey
Although license suspensions are ordered by the municipal court judge in a DWI case, the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) is in charge of administering the suspensions. When the period of suspension is over, you will need to apply to the MVC for reinstatement of your license.
Keep in mind that reinstatement of your license is not guaranteed. You will likely have to complete alcohol education classes at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) prior to applying for reinstatement. Additionally, you may need to perform community service, pay all court-imposed fines, install ignition interlock devices on your vehicles if required by the court, and pay MVC surcharges.
Contact an Experienced Union Township DWI Defense Lawyer Who Will Protect Your License
If you lose your driver’s license, you could struggle to maintain your employment. Perhaps public transportation to and from your place of work isn’t convenient. Moreover, it could be embarrassing to have to explain to your boss and co-workers why you no longer have a valid driver’s license. Even relatively mundane tasks like picking up your kids from soccer practice or going to the grocery store could become arduous because you can’t legally operate a motor vehicle.
Do not let a DWI charge ruin your life. If you have been charged with Driving While Intoxicated in Union County, Middlesex County, Monmouth County, or anywhere else in New Jersey, it is imperative that you speak with a qualified DWI defense attorney immediately. Andrew Calcagno is available 24/7 to discuss your case and help you explore all of your legal options. Contact Mr. Calcagno now to schedule a free initial consultation at one of our offices in Westfield, Cranford, Newark, Clifton, or Red Bank.