DWI Fines in New Jersey
Aggressive Elizabeth, NJ DWI Attorneys Help You Beat DUI Charges and Avoid DUI Fines
DWI/DUI offenses in New Jersey tend to result in severe punishments because local municipal prosecutors are not very lenient when public safety is involved. In fact, one of the major reasons that prosecutors, and judges, are cracking down on drunk driving violators is that there has been a rise in the total number of DWI accidents in New Jersey in recent years. As a result, anyone caught operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated is likely to receive the maximum penalties, which will almost certainly include suspension of the offender’s license and heavy fines. In some situations, even a first-time DWI offense can result in jail time.
If you have been charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) in New Jersey, you need to do everything in your power to protect your driving privileges and your freedom. Unfortunately, a lot of defendants in DWI cases make the mistake of thinking that they can save a little money by hiring an inexperienced attorney – or, worse yet, by representing themselves. The truth is that you get what you pay for. Moreover, the long-term financial consequences of having a DWI conviction on your driving record could be devastating for you and your loved ones. That’s why you need to call Andrew John Calcagno, the founder of Calcagno & Associates, immediately. Mr. Calcagno has successfully represented countless clients facing DWI charges in Plainfield, Roselle, East Orange, Bloomfield, and Middletown, NJ.
Steep Fines for DWI Offenses in New Jersey
NJ law imposes severe penalties on anyone convicted of a DWI offense. One of the most significant punishments imposed under the law is monetary, with DWI offenders often being ordered to pay steep fines when they are convicted. The amount of the fine imposed in a DWI case depends on the precise charges:
- First Offense DWI with .08 percent BAC: $250-$400
- First Offense DWI with .10 percent BAC: $300-$500
- Second Offense DWI: $500-$1,000
- Third Offense DWI: $1,000
- First Offense DWI in a School Zone: $1,000-$2,000
- Second Offense DWI in a School Zone: $2,000
- Third Offense DWI in a School Zone: $500-$800
- DUI Drugs – First Offense: $300-$500
- DUI Drugs – Second Offense: $500-$1,000
- DUI Drugs – Third Offense: $1,000
- Breath Test Refusal – First Offense: $300-$500
- Breath Test Refusal – Second Offense: $500-$1,000
- Breath Test Refusal – Third Offense: $1,000
Keep in mind that even if you refuse to submit to an Alcotest after being pulled over by a police officer, you can still be charged with Driving While Intoxicated based on the observations of the officer. Moreover, you will also face charges for Breath Test Refusal, which can lead to additional penalties and heavier fines.
Free Consultation with an Experienced DWI Lawyer in Clifton, NJ
The fines for a DWI conviction or a Breath Test Refusal conviction are often imposed in addition to other monetary penalties, such as Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) surcharges and license restoration fees. Beyond that, you can expect that your auto insurance premiums will rise considerably after you have been convicted of drunk driving. The bottom line is that a DWI charge is going to cost you. What you need to focus on now is making sure that your DWI charge doesn’t end up costing you everything.
Andrew Calcagno and his skilled legal team are prepared to defend you against DWI charges Union County, Passaic County, Middlesex County, or anywhere else in New Jersey. Contact us now to discuss your case over the phone or schedule a free consultation at one of our conveniently located offices in Westfield, Cranford, Newark, Clifton, or Red Bank.